Changes to Australia’s Arrivals SmartGates

SmartgateFrom 20 June, 2016 Australia’s Arrivals SmartGates will be permanently open to eligible Chinese, Hong Kong, Macau, Japanese, Korean, French and Swedish ePassport holders.

This is a significant expansion, increasing permanent use from eight to 13 eligible countries, plus the Special Administrative Regions (SARs) Hong Kong and Macau. This milestone marks another step in Australia’s significant progress towards delivering streamlined and simplified border experiences for travellers at Australia’s international airports.

Travellers will be able to access Arrivals SmartGate if they have an eligible ePassport, are over 16 years of age and are from:-

* Australia
* Canada
* Ireland
* New Zealand
* Singapore
* Switzerland
* Korea
* Macau (SAR of China)
* United Kingdom
* United States of America
* China
* France
* Hong Kong (SAR of China)
* Japan
* Sweden

Further details on SmartGate eligibility are available on the Department’s website here:

Arrivals SmartGate also has multilingual support, enabling display or selection of a number of languages, including: Arabic, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Traditional Chinese and Vietnamese.

It would be greatly appreciated if you could please disseminate this advice to your constituent tourism partners.

In response to increasing traveller numbers the Australian Government we will continue to expand eligibility and introduce improved technology for Arrivals SmartGate. A trial for ePassport holders from Taiwan to use the Arrivals SmartGate is also currently underway.

We request that your organisation please review all relevant web content and make the necessary adjustments to your websites to reflect this change.

The 9th Annual PCOA Conference and Exhibition, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, 27 – 29 November 2016